Russia Flag

Russia country information

Country Presentation

Geographical location

Russia is bounded to the north by the Arctic Ocean, to the east by the Pacific Ocean via the Bering Strait, the Bering Sea, the Sea of Okhotsk and the Sea of Japan.It borders to the south with North Korea, China, Mongolia, Kazakhstan, the Caspian Sea, Azerbaijan, Georgia and bounded by the Black Sea. On the western side, Russia is determined by Ukraine, Belarus, Latvia, Estonia, the Baltic Sea, Finland and Norway. Russia has several islands in the Arctic Ocean such as Novaya Zemlia, Severnaïa Zemlia, New Siberia archipelago, Wrangel Island, and in the Pacific Ocean such as the Kuril Islands and Sakhalin Island.

Russia consists of federal districts as follows:

  • The central federal district and its capital is Moscow
  • The Federal District of the South, its capital is Rostov-on-Don)
  • The Federal District of the North-West, its capital is Saint Petersburg)
  • The federal district of Privoljsk or Volga and its capital is Nizhny Novgorod)
  • Ural Federal District, its capital is Yekaterinburg
  • Siberian Federal District, its capital is Novosibirsk)
  • The Far Eastern Federal District, its capital is Khabarovsk

Russia is a country with an area close to 17100000 km² and a population of just over 140702000 people. Russia belongs to the continent of Europe. Its ALPHA2 code is RU and ALPHA3 code is RUS.

Download Russia postal codes Data Base

Some information on Russia

iso3166 Alpha2 RU
iso3166 Alpha3 RUS
iso3166 Numeric 643
Fips country code RS
Country Russia
Capital Moscow
Area 17100000 km²
Population 140702000
Continent Europe

The regions of Russia

Адыгея Республика (138)
Алтай Республика (118)
Алтайский Край (1051)
Амурская Область (396)
Архангельская Область (639)
Астраханская Область (253)
Байконур (7)
Башкортостан Республика (1283)
Белгородская Область (610)
Брянская Область (626)
Бурятия Республика (263)
Владимирская Область (462)
Волгоградская Область (944)
Вологодская Область (682)
Воронежская Область (995)
Дагестан Республика (575)
Ивановская Область (312)
Ингушетия Республика (58)
Иркутская Область (772)
Кабардино-Балкарская Республика (203)
Калининградская Область (249)
Калмыкия Республика (143)
Калужская Область (463)
Камчатская Область (119)
Карачаево-Черкесская Республика (159)
Карелия Республика (281)
Кемеровская Область (609)
Кировская Область (737)
Коми Республика (385)
Костромская Область (408)
Краснодарский Край (1261)
Красноярский Край (820)
Курганская Область (501)
Курская Область (698)
Ленинградская Область (548)
Липецкая Область (527)
Магаданская Область (57)
Марий Эл Республика (271)
Мордовия Республика (492)
Москва (1422)
Московская Область (1164)
Мурманская Область (168)
Нижегородская Область (990)
Новгородская Область (409)
Новосибирская Область (828)
Омская Область (616)
Оренбургская Область (928)
Орловская Область (486)
Пензенская Область (572)
Пермский Край (733)
Приморский Край (551)
Псковская Область (487)
Ростовская Область (1122)
Рязанская Область (566)
Самарская Область (786)
Санкт-Петербург (354)
Саратовская Область (926)
Саха (Якутия) Республика (469)
Сахалинская Область (162)
Свердловская Область (927)
Северная Осетия-Алания Республика (179)
Смоленская Область (515)
Ставропольский Край (631)
Тамбовская Область (678)
Татарстан Республика (1110)
Тверская Область (916)
Томская Область (306)
Тульская Область (578)
Тыва Республика (124)
Тюменская Область (819)
Удмуртская Республика (494)
Ульяновская Область (528)
Хабаровский Край (317)
Хакасия Республика (138)
Челябинская Область (718)
Чеченская Республика (280)
Читинская Область (436)
Чувашская Республика (405)
Ярославская Область (444)